PALMER TOWNSHIP PLANNING COMMISSION

PUBLIC MEETING - TUESDAY, JANUARY 9, 2024 - 7:00 PM PALMER TOWNSHIP MUNICIPAL MEETING ROOM, LOWER LEVEL, 3 WELLER PLACE, PALMER PA 18045

The January meeting of the Palmer Township Planning Commission was held on Tuesday, January 9, 2024 at 7:00 PM with the following in attendance Chairman, Chuck Diefenderfer, Vice Chairman, Jeff Kicska, Rich Wilkins, Chris Hess, Tom Grube, and Robin Aydelotte. Also in attendance were Solicitor Will Oetinger, Kent Baird, Director of Planning and Craig Beavers, Assistant Planning Director.

1. **Opening Comments**

Robert Williams, Township Supervisor, thanked Chairman Diefenderfer for all his years of service for the Palmer Township community. He also thanked all members of the Planning Commission, recognizing that it is not an easy job.

Williams went on to thank our current legal team. Palmer Township has taken a more aggressive approach in trying to curb overcrowding, traffic, pollution, noise, and the overpopulation of warehouses.

The community has voiced their opinion about the approval of warehouses in a conditional use process without the use being defined. The Board challenged the land use of Greystone Capital.

Their attorney took a very aggressive stance. They went to court. However, the court with Judge Samuel Murray denied the Appeal. The Board of Supervisors decision is sustained.

Williams read the decision of the court.

Williams said Palmer Township is a leader. He said it is a tough fight for good government and we are doing the work of the people.

Commission Members Absent: Ruch

2. Pledge to the Flag

Chairman Diefenderfer led the Pledge of Allegiance.Commission Members Absent: Ruch

3. Nomination for Chairperson

Baird led the meeting as interim Chairman to take nominations for Chairperson of the Planning Commission.

Rich Wilkins nominated Jeff Kicska as Chairperson

Tom Grube seconded the nomination.

There were no other nominations.

All were in favor.

Motion: Approve, Moved by Richard Wilkins, by Tom Seconded Grube. Passed. 6-0. Commission Members voting Ayes: Aydelotte, Diefenderfer, Grube, Hess, Kicska, Wilkins

Commission Members Absent: Ruch

4. Nomination for Vice Chairperson

Jeff Kicska as Chairman of the Planning Commission asked for nominations for Vice Chairman.

Tom Grube nominated Rich Wilkins

Chris Hess seconded the nomination

There were no other nominations and all were in favor.

Motion: Approve, Moved by Tom Grube, Seconded by Christopher Hess. Passed. 7-0. Commission Members voting Ayes: Aydelotte, Diefenderfer, Grube, Hess, Kicska, Ruch, Wilkins

5. Introduction of Chris Hess

Baird introduced Chris Hess as a new member of the Planning Commission. Commission Members Absent: Ruch

6. Approval of Minutes - December 12, 2023

Approve/Disapprove the Minutes of the October 10, 2023 Planning Commission Meeting.

Motion: Approve, Moved by Tom Grube, Seconded by Robin Aydelotte. Passed. 5-0. Commission Members voting Ayes: Aydelotte, Diefenderfer, Grube, Kicska, Wilkins

Commission Members voting Abstain: Hess Commission Members Absent: Ruch

NEW BUSINESS

7. 2023 Annual Report

New Business Item: Draft 2023 Annual Report

DISCUSSION

Baird reviewed the Annual Report.

Motion: Approve, Moved by Richard Wilkins, Seconded by Tom Grube. Passed. 6-0. Commission Members voting Ayes: Aydelotte, Diefenderfer, Grube, Hess, Kicska, Wilkins
Commission Members Absent: Ruch

PLANNING DIRECTOR COMMENTS

There was discussion regarding the absence of Bill Ruch from all meetings of the Planning Commission. Kicska made a motion to move the decision to the Board of Supervisors to remove Bill Ruch from the Planning Commission.

Motion: Approve, Moved by Jeff Kicska, Seconded by Tom Grube. Passed. 6-0. Commission Members voting Ayes: Aydelotte, Diefenderfer, Grube, Hess, Kicska, Wilkins

Commission Members Absent: Ruch

PUBLIC COMMENT

Supervisor Bellis welcomed Chris Hess and thanked Charles Diefenderfer for all the great things he's done for the Township.

He commended Baird and Beavers for how knowledgeable quick and efficient they are.

Commission Members Absent: Ruch

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 7:40 PM.

Motion: Adjourn, Moved by Tom Grube, Seconded by Richard Wilkins. Passed. 6-0. Commission Members voting Ayes: Aydelotte, Diefenderfer, Grube, Hess, Kicska, Wilkins

Commission Members Absent: Ruch